Home > Character Development > Student Leadership > JWSS Student Council

JWSS Student Council


At the apex of Student Leadership in JWSS, our Student Councillors (SCs) represent the student population and serve as the vital link between the students and the school management for the continuous improvement of student welfare, school programmes and infrastructure.




image 2.jpg
The olive branch represents the SCs as caring leaders who are humble and willing to serve the school.

The gryphon, a traditional symbol of leadership for centuries, is a mythical creature that possesses an eagle’s agility and speed combined with a lion’s strength and courage. It reflects our SCs’ confidence and competency in embodying leadership.

The five stars represent our school values – respect, resilience, integrity, care and excellence.

Leadership Framework

At the end of their 4 or 5 years of leadership journey, the SCs will have grown in their capacity to lead others with competence and care, and influence their peers to bring about a positive change to the school and society through meaningful collaborations.

image 3.jpg
Refer to https://jurongwestsec.moe.edu.sg/character-development/student-leadership for more details of our Student Leadership Framework.

Developmental Programmes

SCs are given opportunities to train and develop their leadership skills through leading and representing the student body in various internal and external programmes. Some of which include the following:

image 4.png

Student Council-Led Events

Our SCs also promote a vibrant school culture for all students through organising events including:

image 5.png

Organisational Structure

Subject Head (Student Leadership)
Mr Edwin Kwek

Student Council Teacher Advisors
Mr Teo Eng Tong
Mr Yaw Kah Weng
Ms Ismath Yaseenimage 6.png


image 7.jpg
SC Presidential Candidates stand alongside 16th President, Jenro, and 17th President, Farzana

image 8.jpg
Moderators inform the school about the voting procedures

image 9.jpg
Students eagerly cast their votes into the balloting boxes

image 10.jpg
Gregarious OGLs heartily cheer for their classes

image 11.jpg
OGLs teach school cheers to the Secondary Ones

image 12.jpg
Secondary Ones are taught how to tie ties during Orientation Camp

image 13.jpg
SC EXCOs at Hwa Chong Institution’s 45th High School Council Investiture Ceremony

image 14.jpg
SCs win 2nd runner-up at Destination Imagination (Middle Level)

image 15.jpg
SCs win 1st runner-up at Destination Imagination (Secondary Level)

image 16.jpg
SCs become emcees for Open Mic

image 17.jpg
All Open Mic contestants perform a finale dance item

image 18.jpg
SCs welcome visitors to their booth during CCA Open House